Day 8-The twisted path to Avril yarn shop

Later in the afternoon I went in search of wooden buttons, linen trims and other Zakka type items.  I had talked to a jewelry maker the previous day and she gave me some ideas, but nothing specific so I was pretty much left to my own wanderings.

There were knives and bikes and antiques, but still no buttons.      The Tokyu Hands department store was very cool, but still no buttons.  About an hour later I happened to find this quaint little shop called Linnet. According to their website, LINNET is a company introducing original linen fabrics and products. They also carry linen yarns, buttons , original patterns and notions.  It was a beautifully curated shop and I purchased a few small pieces of their original linen fabric and some trims.  However, their buttons were very basic and so my search for cute wooden shaped buttons continued.

Fortunately, the shop girl at Linnet pointed me in the direction of another shop that was just around the block.  This led me to an old brick three story building.  So I climbed the stairs to the third floor and found a tiny button shop.  Sadly, many of these buttons were plastic.  I was almost ready to leave when I took a second look around the other shops on the third floor.  Right before my very own eyes was one of the most glorious yarn shops I have ever seen in my lifetime.  I do not knit or crotchet but I was still in heaven with all the brilliant colors and textures on display.  

The lighting is this picture is not the best, but here is the wall that greeted me when I entered the Avril yarn shop.  This was only a fraction of the yarns and notions they had in stock.  The best part is that they specialize in custom made creations.  You pick the yarns (up to three strands) and they use this machine to twist the fibers together into one strand.  I was intent on getting one made as a gift for my Mom, but where to start?

In the end, I went with a very cool and neutral palette that I thought would look pleasing on her.  Here are my choices and a few pictures of the process.      The final result is very dreamy and soft like a cloud…Also the shop girls at Avril were very nice and so very helpful and kind.  There was definitely a language barrier, but somehow we managed to communicate.  Perhaps this is because we shared the common bond of crafting and recognized that quality in one another?  So if you ever have time in Kyoto, you should definitely check out this shop.  It was a long and twisted path for me to get here, but I was so glad I didn’t miss this experience. 

Around here, however, we don’t look backwards for very long. We keep moving forward, opening up new doors and doing new things, because we’re curious… and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths. — Walt Disney 

Leave a Reply

