Day 4-Kichijōji

On Saturday we took the JR Chuo line to Kichijōji, which is a neighborhood on the northwest side of Tokyo.  The area is one of the most popular areas for younger people to spend their weekend, due to the fact that it features one of Tokyo’s most varied and complete shopping areas, as well as the almost constantly crowded Inokashira Park.

On the platform, we spotted our first smoothie bar in Tokyo.After enjoying our smoothies, we decided to split up and meet in a few hours for lunch. Brad went in search of more vintage shops and I went in search of more fabric.  The station was extremely crowded and as I exited the station I got caught up in the middle of a youth baseball team. After a few minutes of wandering around the busy streets I finally stopped to ask directions, which is always an interesting experience.  Fortunately the shop girls at the French Le Creuset shop were very helpful and conveyed to me (mostly by hand signals) that the store I was looking for was on the 9th floor of the station building.  

So back to the station I went in search of the elevator, which proved to be easier than I thought.  The first stop I made was the 8th floor to check out the thread and felting kits, beads and general hobby supplies.     

  When I saw these little coin purse kits I knew I was in the right place. Just one floor up and I there I found the Liberty of London fabric displays.   Eeekkkk! Do you see the Hello Kitty?  And bolt after bolt of Liberty of London in patterns and designs I didn’t even knew existed. It was just heavenly.     I spent the next few hours gathering up a cart of fabric to take to the cutting station.  I couldn’t believe the selection and there were even some really great designer prints in the clearance section.  It was all I could do not to restrain myself from getting a little bit of everything. At least I managed to pick out some Hello Kitty Liberty that I thought would make a cute Kimono style dress.

 Brad met me at the register in time to snap a picture as I was getting my very own discount card, which saved me another 5%. 

 

The name of the store is Yuzawaya and here is a close-up of my brand new shopper card.  

 By this time we were both ready for some lunch. So we headed off towards the park to check out some restaurants. We settled on a nice looking place called Inokashira Kitchen that specialized in rotisserie chicken.

       It was delicious!!!

Then we walked to the park and back though the streets of Kichijoji.       

   

Another beautiful day in Tokyo!!!

“It’s not that we spend five days looking forward to just two. It’s that most people do what they enjoy most on those two days. Imagine living a life where everyday are your Saturdays and Sundays. Make everyday your weekend. Make everyday a play-day…” 
― James A. Murphy, The Waves of Life Quotes and Daily Meditations

Leave a Reply

