Koenji Vintage shops (Guest blog by B J Keith)

I set off on my own to find the vintage clothing shops in Koenji, Tokyo, whilst Kat went to shop for heaps of cool fabric. After disembarking from the subway station, I stumbled upon a maze of busy streets. It was still a bit early in the day, so many of the shops were not open. I ventured upon a small restaurant with Route 66 and Harley Davidson signs in the windows. I was greeted warmly by the proprietor behind the counter. After a brief discussion about where are you from,etc…..she went to roust up her husband. Turns out he owns a Harley and loves Old Muscle cars. I also met another chap in the restaurant whom I dubbed Mr. Harley.   

After a bit of Japaneglish spoken between the group, Hiroyuki offered to walk me to the vintage shop alleyways. There were many cool shops with friendly shop keepers with artistic displays. 
  

  

 I remember seeing quite a few Japanese chaps shopping the U.S. Vintage stores back in the 1980’s and 1990’s. Turns out, this is where all the great vintage clothing ended up. I eventually found my way back to the station after purchasing a few items. I also ran across the Colonel. 

 

The End.

“The only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars.” ~ Jack Kerouac

2 thoughts on “Koenji Vintage shops (Guest blog by B J Keith)

Leave a Reply

